Grace Wins

Hi ya’ol. How have you been?
So today this will be a music-ish post.
Like so many of people, I love music. Oh I could tell you stories without end about memories, lessons, inspirations and what not, that have been provoked by a song. Maybe I will tell of such stories in the future. Who knows! Well, God does. Hihi.

For the last couple of days, two songs have been playing on repeat. Laura Daigle’s Trust In You and Matthew West’s Grace Wins. I will however post about the latter.

grace winsMost times I meet people that just need the power of the cross to work for them. They however keep rejecting the grace on offer from God and there is not much I can do about it but pray that they would come to their senses. The sad thing is, they wait to completely break down and break everything in their wake for them to accept God’s help. Still, others totally reject it.

Not so long ago, a drunk relative was offended by my chirpy state as I did my chores and demanded silence while holding two blades each on either hand in an attempt to intimidate all who were around. There is a lot to say about that scene, believe me. But my point is this, in the words of Jefferson Bethke ‘Idols over-promise but under-deliver. They operate on deceiving’ – A Man and His Idols.

We all worship. If the altar is not Christ’s, then congratulations, you are an idolater, hell is your reward, and the torment begins right here. A downward spiral into dungeons of darkness. I could tell tales with no end of countless personal weak moments. So I thank God for grace that disregarded my filth and noticed the willing heart of my tear drenched self. If there was and still is grace for me, then there is a whole lot for you. If you let it, grace will always win for you.

Shout out to my brothers and sisters in the body of Christ. Grace keeps winning for us. Let the world know it can win for them too.

Here is the story behind the song Grace Wins from the album Live Forever.

Story Behind The Song Grace Wins

#GraceWins has a connection to the #HelloMyNameIs story. Check out how people are choosing to let grace win in their lives

Posted by Matthew West on Monday, August 17, 2015

 

Here, enjoy Matthew West’s Grace wins (below are lyrics to the song)

In my weakest moment I see you 
Shaking your head in disgrace 
I can read the disappointment 
Written all over your face

Here come those whispers in my ear
Saying who do you think you are
Looks like you’re on your own from here
Cause grace could never reach that far

But, in the shadow of that shame
Beat down by all the blame
I hear you call my name saying it’s not over
And my heart starts to beat
So loud now, drowning out the doubt
I’m down but I’m not out

There’s a war between guilt and grace
And they’re fighting for a sacred space
But I’m living proof
Grace wins every time

No more lying down in death’s defeat
Now I’m rising up in victory
Singing hallelujah
Grace wins every time

Words can’t describe the way it feels
When mercy floods a thirsty soul
A broken side begins to heal
And grace returns what guilt has stole

And, in the shadow of that shame
Beat down by all the blame
I hear you call my name saying it’s not over
And my heart starts to beat
So loud now, drowning out the doubt

I’m down but I’m not out

There’s a war between guilt and grace
And they’re fighting for a sacred space
But I’m living proof
Grace wins every time

No more lying down in death’s defeat
Now I’m rising up in victory
Singing hallelujah
Grace wins every time

For the prodigal son, grace wins
For the woman at the well, grace wins
For the blind man and the beggar, grace wins
For always and forever, grace wins
For the lost out on the street, grace wins
For the worst part of you and me, grace wins
For the thief on the cross, grace wins
For a world that is lost

There’s a war between guilt and grace
And they’re fighting for a sacred space
But I’m living proof
Grace wins every time

No more lying down in death’s defeat
Now I’m rising up in victory
Singing hallelujah
Grace wins every time

Every time, yeah
I’m living proof grace wins every time

In response,...

